ICED!Green Tea

Standard

Today I met up with a friend in the evening to watch the movie Olympus (good movie just  a bit on the violent side) at the Silverbird Cinema.  We stopped at Enda Restaurant for drinks to while away time before our movie started.

I received good quality service today from a very charming waiter at Enda Restaurant in Accra Mall. Those who know me well, know that I am not easily impressed.  I’m constantly in distress about the  poor standard of services in our hospitality industry. Most times I leave a restaurant, hotel, or retail store stressed and fuming due to rude sales people, waiters and sometimes even owners.

So you know it’s a big deal when I decide to write about this topic.

Let me set the scene…

The day was warm and humid so I knew I wanted something cold to quench my thirst.  Juice, Soda or coffee was not an option. We walk in to take our seats, and our waiter welcomes us with a smile and hands us the menu.

I used to drink green tea like it was water during my South Korean days. My green tea craving had returned. This was not just any green tea craving, I wanted to drink ICED green tea.

How many times have you entered a restaurant in Ghana, ordered something that is not on the menu but rather, some variation of what’s available on the menu only to be told , ‘It’s not available’ or even worse ‘ASA’? Sometimes the items on the menu is not  available at all (Asa Koraaa!).

If it’s not available take it off the menu!

*Side thought: Have you been to a Ghanaian restaurant with a menu as long as the content page of an encyclopedia and you get confused  about what to order?  How do you sell pizza and fufu , hamburger and tuo zafi on the same menu. Outside on a big bold signboard will read: ‘Ghanaian Western Food’. Less is more wai.

I digress… Back to my story.

Tall Glass of chilled green tea

So I posed my request to our waiter. “What sort of teas do you have?”

“Madam we have peach tea, vanilla tea, lipton and green tea” he replied.

Oh the excitement, Enda had green tea! “Stay calm Kate” I silently quipped to myself.

“Okay” I replied coolly .

Can I have some green tea… ICED green tea?” I asked confidently.

I wait, for the dreaded answer I usually hear from waiters who aren’t used to serving items that are not identical to what the menu suggests.

Madam we cannot do that for you we only serve HOT green tea“.

That was what had played in my mind but, to my shock and surprise he said,

“Would you like it with sugar or without?”

Huh?” I thought, “that was not part of the script

“HOORAY!”

Five minutes later my waiter returns with a tall glass of chilled green tea with a lovely lemon garnish to make it all the more appealing.

For the first time a Ghanaian restaurant has  actually gone out of their way to accommodate their customer.

Three cheers for Enda hip hip HOORAY!

I give Enda Restaurant 8/10 for a job well done!

Well trained, knowledgeable and friendly waiters           9/10

Reasonably priced menu (for a western restaurant)          6/10

Clean Restaurant         7/10

Good Iced Green Tea      10/10

Click to read about health benefits of drinking Green Tea

8 thoughts on “ICED!Green Tea

  1. Hi! I know this is sort of off-topic but I had to ask.
    Does operating a well-established website such as yours take
    a large amount of work? I am brand new to running a blog but I do write in my diary
    everyday. I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my own experience and views online. Please let me know if you have any kind of recommendations or tips for brand new aspiring bloggers. Thankyou!

  2. Bernard Ayettey

    Well I guess they have changed…
    The last time I went there I had to wait for a while before getting service…
    I was told internet was available. So I was thinking good VAS. But no I had to pay for it in addition to the food….
    I’ll try again soon

  3. Aw, this was an incredibly nice post. Taking the time and
    actual effort to create a good article… but what can I
    say… I put things off a lot and never manage to get nearly anything
    done.

Comment

